National Walking Day

Who knew but today is National Walking Day! Let me tell you how I found this out.

A week ago today, almost to the hour, I found myself on a little journey.  My mom was suffering from congestive heart failure.  In sparing details she has been in the hospital all week and now in a skilled nursing facility.  This is serious, my mom suffers from Cardiomyopathy.  The word literally means ‘muscle heart disease’.  The muscle of her heart is weak, very weak after taking a hit this week with congestive heart failure.

This is something that doesn’t get much better over time.  However, with light exercise the muscle can strengthen, just like any other muscle.  My mom will be working with physical therapists to help her get moving a little more with day to day activities. Any little bit of exercise and walking is a great help to her.

So where does my journey begin?  Well actually it began 12 years ago when we first discovered my mom’s condition.  We have been through many ups and downs concerning her health. Although, this time around, I don’t want to be so passive.  I want to stand up and do something that will promote heart healthy lifestyles.  I have a mother who has been given more years than doctors thought possible 12 years ago.  I am anxious to support my mom and the American Heart Association in bringing awareness to our community.

With all this said I have joined the Tulsa Heart 5K Walk on April 21st.  I have created a team, Walkin’ for Worthean.  The walk is only 2 and a half weeks away but my goal is to raise $300 in that time.  Also, my goal is to have 4 team members join me in this walk.   I hear there is a also a small survivor walk as well.  I am hoping my mom’s health will have increased by then so that perhaps she can join us.

If you would like to make a donation or join us in the walk please click this link to the website. 

So to answer the question.  I knew it was National Walking Day because I have created a team that will help make a difference and bring awareness to others about the number one killer in America.   Walking just 30 minutes a day can help…

  • Reduce the risk of coronary heart disease
  • Improve blood pressure and blood sugar levels
  • Improve blood lipid profile
  • Maintain body weight and lower the risk of obesity
  • Enhance mental well being
  • Reduce the risk of osteoporosis
  • Reduce the risk of breast and colon cancer
  • Reduce the risk of non-insulin dependent (type 2) diabetes

Let’s get moving together! Did you walk today?

One comment

  1. Pingback: getting outside « drewanie


Leave a Reply

