try something new

I usually try to think outside of the box when it comes to food.  A couple weeks ago I stumbled upon polenta.  I was browsing the international aisle looking for something new.  I thought this corn based item would be a great replacement to the somewhat glutenous items that usually compliment Italian food.  We chose to slice up the log and fry it up.  It wanted to stick to the pan, but overall it was delicious.

This week Drew came along with me grocery shopping. I like to bring him because I also have the tendency to buy the same foods over and over again.  I especially like it when he picks out meat.  I love meat, but for some reason don’t buy that much.

We recently learned we needed more Omega 3 fats in our diet. Since this revelation we’ve been trying to eat fish at least once a week.  So, I asked Drew to choose.

The shark is hiding behind the large swordfish steak.

Lo and behold his choice was shark and swordfish.  I can’t argue with that.  What an adventure in food!

We threw them on the grill and ate up. The shark was like a steak or pork chop and the swordfish was what you wish all fish to be.  It was a flaky but not too much.  It was a flavorful but not too fishy.  It was light but super rich and filling.

I love that Drew and I take little adventures in trying new things.

What new thing have you explored lately?

Or do you feel you’re stuck in a rut?

What new thing would you like to do this week?

One comment

  1. This is what I told you about that one day. Remember when I couldn’t for like a hour think of what it was called? I think I finally came up with it. They have lots of different flavors. I’m glad you have found something else to incorporate into your diet! (-:

    ~Kathryn


Leave a Reply

